The Lights Go Out In Your Building…

by Ellie McHale

A couple years ago, I happened to stumble across a nugget of musical joy. It was early afternoon on Saturday, day 2, of Coachella in 2011. I ventured into the fields to check out a band, getting to the stage early. There was this tall, lanky man with fantastic black hair dressed in all white. Watching him move and listening to his voice, I instantly fell in love. And, I’ve been in love ever since. That man is Francis Farewell Starlite of Francis and the Lights.

I can’t quite describe his sound. Prince comes to mind often, but they’re not exactly the same. There is a complicated simplicity to FatL. Yes, I used a cliched oxymoron, but that is the best way to describe this music.

Words can’t do Francis and the Lights justice. I shall leave you with a live set Francis did solo. This is my favorite thing to put on when I’m driving or cooking or with friends or want to relax. Please, enjoy.

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

