Happy Christmas To All

by Ellie McHale

Let’s put aside our need to perpetuate capitalist standards and take a moment to look at the true meaning of Christmas. It is a time of celebrating life and community. It is a day to be thankful for what you have and possibly a reflection on what else you can do to be a citizen of substance.

After eight years of working retail, I have really come to appreciate the deeper, more meaningful side of holidays. I’d rather give, than receive. And, the things I would rather give are a book I enjoyed that I know a certain someone else will enjoy. Perhaps a mix album to introduce people to music they might enjoy. Even treating a loved one to a fun evening of dinner, a concert, a movie, a play, or just a few hours spent together connecting. It’s not how much you spend on the person or the trendiness of the item you are buying them… It’s the fact you took the time to offer your loved one a token of appreciation. Sure, we should appreciate our tribe every day, but we often forget.

For those of you who celebrate Christmas, I urge you to take a moment during the day to reflect on the positive aspects of your life. Make a mental list of everything you are thankful for. Tell someone you are happy to share your life with them. And, take note of what you would like to accomplish in the next year.

I leave you with a song that reminds me of my childhood in England. It always evokes a sense of peace & happiness, and I hope it can do the same for you.

