I’m Not The Only One

by Ellie McHale

Yes, that is the title to a sugary pop song by Maria Mena. And, I admit it, I kinda like it. But, I’m not going to talk about the song or Maria.

Everyone and their dog’s mamas like to talk about “Hallelujah” and how amazing it is. I even mentioned it in my favorite covers post. Because, it really is an amazing song. The lyrics are rich and tender. They evoke a sense of longing, hurt, joy, peace, nostalgia.

While checking out NPR.org, I stumbled upon an article about “Hallelujah” and hoped that the author had come across some new insightful piece of information directly from Leonard Cohen’s mouth. Alas, that’s not the case. But, I was excited to learn that Alan Light has written and released a book called “The Holy or the Broken” that deals with the song at hand. And, I think I need it in my life.

Here is another cover of “Hallelujah” for your entertainment:

