Hip Hop Heartbeat, Part One

by Ellie McHale

There has been a dvd sitting on my dresser for a month, maybe longer. Ages ago, I found the trailer for it while watching some of my favorite hip-hip artists on YouTube. You know, the likes of Common and The Roots and N.E.R.D., et cetera. Upon seeing the trailer, I put the flick in my Netflix queue and pushed right to the top…

Unfortunately, my mind wandered elsewhere. I still haven’t watched it! Believe me, I do want to watch it. But, it is 1.00am and I’ve got stuff to do in the morning.

As this documentary caters to my inner hoodrat from East Los in the 90’s, I have a good feeling that I will enjoy it. Tribe was gold standard for hip-hop in the 90’s. Everyone loved them. We still do…

I can’t wait. I’m so excited I might even start watching it now…

